Skip to content

Heart of Confusion

September 24, 2010

Okay….so I’m about four pages from the end of Heart of Darkness, and like I tweeted this morning, I don’t get it. At all. Everything is so vague. Marlow talks for nearly the entire book about what an amazing guy Kurtz is, and I think we get a grand total of six pieces of dialogue from Kurtz when they finally find him, most of which don’t make any sense and aren’t very profound. I get that the guy is crazy. I get that Marlow sucks as a narrator (I remember him well from Lord Jim). I get that the British treatment of the Congoans was horrific. I hate the fact that the story is told from like six removed points of view. The quotes within the quotes are killing me.

Okay, I’ll stop complaining now, and man up for the last four pages. Hopefully something amazing will be revealed. I’d love to hear from anyone who loved Heart of Darkness, and might be able to shed some light on what I might be missing.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2010 1:49 pm

    Mark me down as also not getting it.

    “The Return” was much better, in my opinion. If you can find it, I’d recommend it. But it’s still Conrad, so don’t expect too much awesome(ness).

  2. September 24, 2010 2:38 pm

    I think that Conrad was writing in his second lanuage really shows sometimes. I havent read this one but my husband said it was ok but not as brilliant as he thought it would be.

  3. September 25, 2010 3:08 am

    Pam, what an interesting coincidence! I just blogged today about the first play, the Agamemnon, in Aeschylus’ magnificent dramatic trilogy The Oresteia, and I finished the posting with a quote from the Kurtz character in Coppola’s Apocalypse Now. There are a lot of similarities in Conrad’s moral message, and that proffered by Aeschylus in The Oresteia. Have a wonderful weekend! Cheers! Chris

  4. September 28, 2010 1:34 am

    Ugh. I really don’t like Conrad. I’ve read this one a couple of times for school and every time I walk away and I just. don’t. get. it. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

