Skip to content

Dilemma

September 29, 2010

I wanted to know out there if any other bloggers have ever read a book they were so apathetic about that they can’t even come up with enough to review it. This is exactly how I feel about Heart of Darkness. For whatever reason, I did not enjoy the book or ‘get’ the book, and because of this, don’t really feel like writing about the book, either. I just wanted to know if anyone else out there had hit the skids like this, and how you coped. 🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2010 3:29 pm

    I’ve done that. I generally try to pick out two things I liked about the book and note them. Then I explain that though the book wans’t bad I just didn’t ‘get it’. I kind of did that with my review today. I read Havah for a book club and though it was great in some areas I just never really got into it.

  2. Jillian permalink
    September 29, 2010 3:59 pm

    You could write about how apathetic you are? Or just call this post the review. 😉

    I picked that book up yesterday at a bookstore and read the first paragraph again, remembering you were reading it. It’s very removed, at least to start…

  3. September 29, 2010 4:24 pm

    I give a general synopsis and then pick holes at why I think the book stunk. If I just feel ‘meh’ about it, I try to explain what made me feel ‘meh’.

    In some cases, like “The Sound and the Fury”, I would have had such a tremendous time because I didn’t want to even think about the book afterwards… but poking holes in something helps other readers. I also didn’t like “Heart of Darkness”, but if I didn’t read it and planned on doing so… I would at least like to know why I shouldn’t so I could instead feel good about focusing my effort on a work like “For Whom the Bell Tolls.”

    (Parenthetically: The horror! The horror!)

  4. September 29, 2010 4:47 pm

    I would just be honest and write about how apathetic you were about it! Try to be fair and balanced, but in the end if there was nothing you liked about the book, just say that!

  5. September 29, 2010 5:15 pm

    The World According to Garp – didnt like it and didnt care so I never bothered with a review. Part of that was because I knew I was in the minority on that though!

  6. September 30, 2010 2:27 am

    Thanks guys. I just feel better knowing this has happened to other people. 🙂 Review under way and will be up soon.

  7. October 1, 2010 2:45 pm

    Make a list of all the reasons you didn’t like/enjoy the book. Then write a post elaborating o each one. Get really into it…let the hatred of the book seethe within you…turn to the dark side. I guarantee you it will be a fun and interesting post to read.

Leave a Reply

