Skip to content

Time-out

December 27, 2010

Yes, it’s been a while since my last posting. I am the first to admit that I may have hit the Modern Library Reader’s Block of All Time with A Clockwork Orange. I HATE IT. Can’t get into it at all. Hate the idea of a book that has to have a glossary so that you can follow what the hell is going on. And yet I hate the idea of skipping it and moving on to the next book. Man, it sucks to have integrity!! So I am going to give myself a bit of a break and see how I feel about starting it over in a couple of weeks. I probably won’t feel incredibly different about it, but who knows. If I made it through The Ginger Man and 100 pages of Finnegans Wake, I hate to think I couldn’t put my big-girl pants on and get through this one. 🙂

I have also been inspired, thanks to some fabulous books I picked up to finish out the Birth Year Reading Challenge, to start a blog for non-fiction books too. You can visit me at that site: Past as Prologue. I really welcome your ideas and suggestions for fantastic non-fiction you’ve read, since I don’t have a list to turn to.

Hope you’re having a great holiday. And look out for A Clockwork Orange to be reviewed sometime mid-January. 🙂

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2010 2:41 am

    I had a friend who is pretty by the book (he’s an accountant) and he could NOT get through this book at all. I’ve been afraid of it ever since… I hope you get through it and can give a good non-spoiler verdict with maybe some pros/cons so I can figure out if I’m strong enough to give it a try. 🙂

    Happy holidays.

  2. January 2, 2011 2:56 am

    I saw the movie years ago and it was incredibly disturbing. I don’t think you should feel bad if you can’t get through it. I did try to read it once and couldn’t get past the first page. This is one that I know I’ll never read.

  3. January 2, 2011 3:58 am

    What I have read of the book is incredibly disturbing too. I just do not enjoy reading about killing and raping sprees with no remorse shown.

  4. January 26, 2011 8:38 am

    I have a friend reading A Clockwork Orange at the moment and he can only manage a few pages a day…he does refuse to give up though!

  5. shelleyrae@ Book'd Out permalink
    February 6, 2011 10:46 pm

    Ugh I don’t blame you, its tough to get through, if I remember rightly I skimmed most of it and I’m pretty sure I just decided it wasn’t worth it. Good luck with getting through it though!

    Shelleyrae
    http://www.bookdout.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

