Skip to content

Little Road Trip Across the Prairie

October 19, 2010

I have a few things going on this week that are book-related that I thought I would share with you.

I have decided to channel Julia Child this week after enjoying her book My Life in France, by making the first main course she enjoyed on French soil…sole meuniere. Anyone that’s made it or had it, please leave a comment or suggestion! I feel pretty Bobby Flay when I don’t burn mac and cheese, so this should be a challenge!

Also, daughter and I are taking a literary road trip later this week, as I was able to accomplish the impossible..three days off work! We’re going to go to De Smet, South Dakota, the final home of most of Laura Ingalls Wilder’s family and the setting for several of our favorite books, Little Town on the Prairie, The Long Winter, On The Shores of Silver Lake, These Happy Golden Years, and The First Four Years. My daughter and I have a rich and proud tradition four years strong of reading these books together before she goes to bed. It will be so cool to see places we’ve only read about in person…the Surveyor’s House where they were the first official settlers of De Smet, the school where Laura, Carrie and Grace went, Pa’s house in town and their homestead claim. Apparently the entire family except Laura and Almanzo is buried there. Plus we get to do the things we’ve only read about, like ride in a covered wagon, write on a slate, and twist hay. Fun times for all! I will take tons of pics.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jillian permalink
    October 19, 2010 12:34 am

    Oh – I’m so excited!! I’m reading/reviewing the Little House series right now! (I never read it as a kid.) I can’t believe you’ll see the graves and everything!!

    Do take plenty of pictures. And have fun!!

  2. October 19, 2010 2:17 pm

    Your trip sounds amazing! I’ve so enjoyed Jillian’s discussions of the Little House books that I am determined to read them as well.

    Good luck with the cooking. Sole is fish, right??? Please be sure to let us know how long it takes, start to finish. (I remember watching a Martha Stewart Christmas special years ago when Miss Piggy helped build a gingerbread house. Miss Piggy said, “So after 100,000 man hours, you’ve got a gingerbread house like one you could have bought for $15?”)

  3. October 19, 2010 3:53 pm

    My husband and I started reading the series out loud together a few months ago, and we’ve also be contemplating a Little House road trip. I’m sure your pictures will give us plenty of inspiration 🙂

  4. October 20, 2010 1:22 am

    That sounds like fun! I love it whenever I get the opportunity to see a place I’ve read about, or vice-versa. I’ve loved the Little House books since I was little, but I’ve never seen any of the places mentioned. I can’t wait to see your pictures! (I just recently found your blog, and it looks like at the perfect time!)

Leave a Reply

