Skip to content

Back on Track

October 15, 2010

I’m still alive! I have to admit I have fallen off the Modern Library wagon as of late. Here are my not-so-good reasons:

1)I’m not sure who was more horrified two weeks ago: Kurtz right before he died, or me finding out I had to read the long-long version of Heart of Darkness. I had no desire to read anything for about three days afterwards, which is not cool when I have roughly 60 books left on the list. So, executive decision….we’re going to let the abridged version stand, and read on. The short version was bad enough, in my mind.

2) Daughter and I drove from Minneapolis to Kansas City two weekends ago for a soccer tournament. Unfortunately the team didn’t do very well, but on the plus side, I am happy to say I didn’t get one speeding ticket, which is miraculous for a road trip where I averaged 75 mph. (No worries, the speed limit was 70. I love Iowa!) Thankfully the fall soccer season is done and I can have my weekends back…at least, until winter dome league starts up in Feb.

3)I have been playing almost non-stop with my new HTC Evo cell phone. Seriously, if you don’t have one of these, you have Sprint, and you have a renewal period coming up, run, do not walk to Best Buy. It is the coolest thing ever. My favorite app is Shazam, which is an app that if you hear a song on the radio and you’re not sure who it is, you turn this app on and it will tell you the song title, artist and album. What’s not to love?

4) It’s been hard to concentrate on anything in the state of MN lately, what with all the media hype around here about Brett Favre’s disgusting text and picture messages. If I ever got a text with a picture of some guy’s junk, I would throw up. I don’t blame Jenn for not calling him back. I give that whole situation the Big Ewwww.

Okay, so enough of the excuses. Starting tomorrow, I am back on track with W. Somerset Maugham’s Of Human Bondage, which I actually did start when we were in KC and was enjoying. Read on, readers!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2010 2:32 am

    Welcome back! Good for you for letting the abridged version stand. I have to admit,that’s one book I’m not remotely interested in reading!

    I hope you like Of Human Bondage!! I love Maugham. That one’s not my favorite of his, but I did like it a lot.

  2. Jillian permalink
    October 15, 2010 8:01 pm

    I don’t blame you for setting the abridged version aside — or for taking a few days off!

    I’m interested in hearing about Of Human Bondage. I’ve just added it to Goodreads. This blogging thing is awesome for my TBR pile. 🙂

Leave a Reply

