Skip to content

Busted!!

October 5, 2010

Thanks to Eclectic Indulgence, I just discovered that there are two versions of Heart of Darkness….and I unknowingly read the short-short version. So I will be making a trip out to Barnes and Noble today to get the real version, since we like to be complete at Journeys. I’m sure my re-review will be even more entertaining after I read the long version….it’s intriguing that someone out there felt like half of this book was unnecessary enough that it could be cut out. Knowing Conrad’s writing style, I can’t help but agree. I would have LOVED the abridged version of Lord Jim.

On the lighter side, I found a YouTube video someone made for their English class of Heart of Darkness, which I thoroughly enjoyed and thought I would post here for your entertainment. Check it out here.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2010 2:06 pm

    I’m glad I could be of help.

    The classics versions at places like Barnes & Nobles or Chapters are commonly abridged. If it doesn’t say ‘unabridged’, then I usually don’t trust it because I have been burned before, or I buy a book from a publisher I trust (Penguin, Everyman’s, Modern Library, etc). There were whole chapters missing in a “Three Muskateers” book that I read – little did I know that the work was something like 800 pages.

  2. Jillian permalink
    October 8, 2010 9:33 pm

    Oh, no! I can’t believe you have to read it all over again. The long version? Now I’m curious if it’s worse than the abridged!

  3. October 10, 2010 10:10 pm

    Now you have me worrying about which one I read!

    Good to know about the B&N abridgments. I’m a completist myself, so don’t want to be fooled.

    I gave you an award on Rose City Reader. This one supports a good cause and involves a fun word game, but still comes with no obligation.

    http://www.rosecityreader.com/2010/10/literacy-award.html

  4. October 11, 2010 9:29 pm

    For what it is worth, I have never, ever encountered a B&N classic edition that was abridged ‘without’ saying that it was abridged. I have a goodly number on my shelves (great prices), and I like them because of their typically great introductions and excellent end-notes. Having said this though, I personally think the Penguin Classics editions are the very best.

    I’ll be very interested on your assessment on “Heart of Darkness” Take 2. I surmise it won’t change much (except it will be a longer read). Good luck with that. 😉 Cheers!

    • socrmom permalink*
      October 13, 2010 11:40 am

      Chris I looked all over the book and there was no mention of it being abridged. It’s the weirdest thing. All I can think of is that it was in a compilation of what it termed “short fiction”. Maybe “shortened fiction” would have been more accurate.:)

Leave a Reply

