Skip to content

Top Ten Tuesday

September 16, 2010

Life has been so crazy lately with switching my blog over that I missed out on The Broke and the Bookish’s wonderful Tuesday meme, Top Ten Tuesday, this week! So okay…it’s Thursday. I’m going to do it anyway! This week’s theme is Top Ten Books I’m Dying to Read. Now, you might think that reading the Top 100 books from the last century would keep my TBR list full until the end of time, but you would be wrong. Thanks to my other blogging friends, there are now a plethora of books I can’t wait to get to after I finish reading the Hundred. Here they are, in no particular order:

1)Catching Fire…I loved The Hunger Games so much (and now my daughter is completely hooked) that I cannot wait to find out what happens to Katniss and Peeta in the wake of their controversial Hunger Games win. It will be interesting to see how Gale took the whole romance thing too.

2)I’ll Mature When I’m Dead..Dave Barry’s Amazing Tales of Adulthood by Dave Barry. I own Dave Barry’s entire body of work, and even though I’ve read each of them like 200 times apiece, I still crack up every time. It was the saddest day in the world for me when he retired from the Miami Herald.

3)Thomas Hardy: The Complete Poems, edited by James Gibson. Chris at ProSe has really turned me on to the lyrical beauty of Hardy’s poetry. His site focuses a lot on poetry, which is something I don’t get around to much, but definitely should.

4)The Custom of the Country, Edith Wharton. I have loved both Wharton’s other books, The House of Mirth and The Age of Innocence. No reason I shouldn’t love this one as well.

5)Northanger Abbey, Jane Austen. Having read each of her other books about 2 million times apiece, I find it hard to believe I’ve never gotten around to this one.

6)The Alchemist, Paolo Cuelho. Gotta get to this one. It was on my list of books I couldn’t believe I’ve never read.

7)Lolita, Vladimir Nabokov. It sounds weird to say I am looking forward to reading a book that is essentially about statutory rape…but I have read so many amazing reviews of this book that I can’t wait til I get to it. It’ll be a while, though, as it’s in the Top 1o on the Modern Library list. Sigh.

8) The Lost Symbol, Dan Brown. For those of you who laughed at me last month for reading The Hunger Games, I can hear the derisive snickers already for having chosen this book. I really did like The Da Vinci Code, and the Mason stuff really is interesting to me. I know it’s not high literature…but still. 🙂

9)The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, Stieg Larsson. Just to see what all the hype is about.

10)The Clan of the Cave Bear, Jean Auel. One of those books I’ve meant to get around to for years, and always look at longingly at the bookstore.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2010 1:42 pm

    Lolita was the biggest literary surprise I think I have ever had. If you make an assumptions due to the subject matter, you will be shocked at how great a job Nabokov did. Such a great book that fills the reader with internal struggle.

    I read ‘The Alchemist’ long ago… sorry to nitpick, but the author’s name is spelled Paulo Coelho. Anyway, this will be a book you either love for the meaning or hate for a simplistic story. While not the best literature you will have read, the meaning was sound and it did help me very much at a point in my life. I still subscribe to some Coelho maxims but I find it hard keeping with him. Some of his stuff is either too religious or is just too melodramatic (trying to stuff as many quotes into a work as possible) for me.

    I agree with the Thomas Hardy poems… will have to check them out myself. And last point, I would stay away from Dan Brown if I were you… unless maybe you’re on a beach and you are looking for mindlessness. Just my snobbish opinion on the matter.

    Eclectic Indulgence

  2. September 16, 2010 5:59 pm

    Way to go on switching to WordPress! I love the look and feel of the new blog. Northanger Abbey is pretty high up on my list too.

  3. September 16, 2010 9:29 pm

    I love the look too! Hey, I am so glad that you are becoming enamored with Hardy’s poetry. I truly do think you’ll end up with a life-long love affair there. You’ll have to explain to me sometime the ‘pros’ and ‘cons’ between WP and Blogger. I really know nothing about either of the two platforms.

    You are reading some great stuff too, my friend! I can’t wait to hear what you think of Undine Spragg in Wharton’s The Custom of the Country. Do keep in the back of your mind, as you read the novel, the story behind ‘Undine,’ the water nymph from mythology. It is a terrific novel! Stay in touch. Cheers! Chris

Leave a Reply

